Utah Helmet Laws & Penalties

Whether you’re riding a bicycle or a motorcycle, wearing a helmet can protect you from major injuries. However, Utah helmet laws don’t apply to every motorcyclist or bicyclist. Wondering whether or not you need to wear a helmet? Read our guide to learn who must wear a helmet as well as what the Utah helmet law penalties are. 

If you live in Utah and need a Utah personal injury lawyer, we’ll give you a free consultation. We serve the entire state from Logan to Salt Lake to St George. 


Helmet Laws in Utah

There is no federal law regarding helmet use. Because of this, each state has its own helmet laws. Some states, such as California, require all motorcyclists to wear a helmet, regardless of age. Utah motorcycle helmet law states that if you are under the age of 21, you are required to wear a helmet. This law came into effect in 2017. Previously, helmet laws in Utah applied only to riders under the age of 18. However, because the brains of young adults are still developing, the law was updated to protect those under 21. 

Utah motorcycle helmet law applies to more than just motorcycles. If you are under the age of 21 and driving on the highway on one of the following kinds of vehicles, you must wear a helmet:

  • Motorcycle
  • Motor-driven cycle
  • Class 3 electric-assisted bicycle
  • An autocycle that isn’t enclosed

In order to comply with Utah helmet laws, you’ll need to make sure you are wearing a helmet approved by the Department of Transportation, or DOT. DOT-approved helmets have undergone rigorous testing to ensure their efficacy in protecting you. When shopping for helmets, make sure to look for the DOT-approved stamp.  

Bicycle Helmet Law in Utah

Utah helmet laws apply to motorcycles, scooters, and electric bicycles. However, there is no bicycle helmet law in Utah for typical bicycles. Still, wearing a helmet is the most effective thing you can do to protect yourself from a major injury. Bicycle accidents happen when you’re least expecting it, and a helmet will absorb much of the force of the crash. 

Utah Helmet Law Penalties

Now that you know about helmet laws in Utah, you’re probably wondering what the penalty is for not complying with the law. If you’re riding a motorcycle, scooter, or electric bike on the highway without a helmet and you are under the age of 21, you could be fined up to $750. To put this into perspective, a speeding ticket for driving between 11 to 15 mph over the speed limit is $150. The penalty for not wearing a helmet may be hefty, but its purpose is to protect young adults from serious brain injury. 

Utah Helmet Law Summary

In summary, if you are under the age of 21, you must wear a helmet on the highway when driving a motorcycle, scooter, or electric bicycle. If you are caught in violation of the law, you may be fined up to $750 in penalties. 

If you’ve been penalized for riding without a helmet, you may want to hire a lawyer to fight or reduce the fine. Contact the lawyers at Harrison, Preston, & Chambers today to get started.